Mean Sumbitches

I don’t just consider myself a fan of the University of Georgia Bulldogs. I think of myself as a sort of ambassador as well. When I’m out and about and I’ve got my Dawgs hat on, I always try to comport myself in a manner befitting a Southern gentleman. I hold doors open for folks, say “Yes, Sir”or “No, Ma’am” and exhibit all kinds of common courtesy, even whilst driving. And as ambassador for the Dawgs, I feel I have been granted plenipotentiary powers and as such, it is well within my rights to state that our position on the matter of trash-talking is, essentially, “Don’t start non’, won’t be non'”.

That said, I’m sure you’ve all seen the tweet by corner back and kick returner Brandon Boykin, daring Coach Chris Petersen and the Boise State Broncos to kick him the ball. Brandon, as I’m sure you’ll recall, holds all kinds of Dawgs’ records for kick off returns, including three of the hundred-yard variety, returned for touchdowns.

There are some in the Dawg Nation who feel that perhaps Mr. Boykin should keep these thoughts to himself. That maybe he should speak with his actions during the game rather than Tweet with his fingers the week before. I can understand this line of thinking. After all, I consider myself a fairly humble and soft-spoken guy. But what I’m not is an 18-20 year-old football player who’s just spent most of the year preparing for a moment that is less than a week away. I don’t want players, especially on defense, who are, like me, humble and soft-spoken. I want napalm-pissing, concertina wire-chewing, mean sumbitches who say what they mean and then show everyone how much they mean it.

It’s on you, Brandon. You go, Boy(kin)!

10 Responses to “Mean Sumbitches”

  1. That’s my Boy(kin)!

  2. ” I don’t want players, especially on defense, who are, like me, humble and soft-spoken. I want napalm-pissing, concertina wire-chewing, mean sumbitches who say what they mean and then show everyone how much they mean it.”

    Awesome! Love it!

  3. Again Awesome. I really enjoy your thoughts,opinions, comments, Blog, Etc. Just keep on keeping on.

  4. I’m all in with you, Muddy! We need to beat these upstarts with hugely arrogant attitudes towards us. They have dissed us since the game was scheduled. Especially their big-mouthed fans that have written us off like we’re Montana State or something. They really think they are head and shoulders better than us. And the national media is no better. Our backs are against the wall and there ain’t nothing more dangerous than a cornered Dawg. I can’t wait to show the world we’re back.

  5. home inspection Ottawa…

    [...]Mean Sumbitches « Year of the Dawg[...]…

  6. [...] what I’m talking about. I mentioned before the season started how I’d like for our defensive players to approach their opponents. [...]

Say Something

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

