Let the Worrying Begin

So I got to worrying about something. Someone, actually. His name is Nick Fairley and he’s a defensive tackle for the Auburn Tigers. He’s 6’4″ and weighs 298 pounds. This is a big man. And he scares the hell out of me.

If that play had occurred in the League, Nick Fairley would have been fined for something or other. But this is SEC football, where monsters come to play defense. If ever there was a time where our offensive line needs to become monster-proof, this Saturday is it. He can shred Auburn’s secondary if Aaron Murray has sufficient time in the pocket.

It’s funny crazy that I open this week of worrying by talking about Auburn’s defense when the thing that has scared everyone else they’ve faced is Auburn’s offense. I believe the prevailing thought amongst college football pundits is that we’re going to see a lot of points scored in Jordan-Hare come Saturday afternoon. By one team. I know our defense is better than Auburn’s. But I’m not sure if it’s better than Auburn’s offense. They’ve been held to under twenty points only once this season, in an early match up against Mississippi State. Auburn’s offense has pretty much gone on a tear since then. Hell, I think they might have just scored on Arkansas again.

Yeah, so I’m a bit worried and will probably be posting all sorts of disjointed nonsense this week as I work out my fears, culminating, I’m sure, in an epic post at the end of the week about how Auburn plans to use their long-snapper offensively. Dawg help me.

3 Responses to “Let the Worrying Begin”

  1. So do to him what Auburn did to Dorsey. Just kidding.

  2. […] mentioned earlier in the week how my worrying about our upcoming game could cause me to write all sorts of […]

Say Something

