I Know Nothing

We’ve got a basketball game against the Colorado Buffaloes this evening. I’m pretty sure A.J. Green can’t suit up and play for Coach Mark Fox in tonight’s game. But I sure wish he could. I’d like to see him beat the Buffaloes.

I’m not going to lie. I don’t really follow basketball all that closely. Last year, in fact, was the first year that I really paid any attention to the Hoop Dawgs since I moved away from Athens years ago. Sure, I watched with pride and not a little amazement during the 2007-2008 season, when we managed to win the SEC tournament amidst rampaging tornadoes and having to play two games in the same day, winning them both (in Tech’s arena, no less!). But I make no claim to having even a cursory knowledge of the intricacies of basketball.

For instance, I’m still not convinced that “Illegal Defense” doesn’t somehow involve a player swinging a tire iron at an opposing player. It sure sounds like it should involve something like that. And the concept of what constitutes a foul eludes me at times. I mean, where’s the sense in the fact that the guy who got knocked to the ground is called for committing a foul against the guy who ran into him? As if that weren’t confusing enough, sometimes these fouls count as “team fouls” which, near as I can tell, doesn’t really lead to anything. No, that’s not true. Because I guess sometimes a team has fouled so many times that the ref has had enough and awards the opposing team a chance to throw the ball into the basket. For free. And all the while, the rest of the players stand around to watch, out of politeness, I guess.

And then there’s the mysterious “one-and-one” variety of “free throw”. I think I’ve got this one figured out. See, what happens is the ref awards a team the chance to a couple of “free throws” but then gets annoyed if a player misses his first one and so decides to call the whole thing off. Completely understandable, in my opinion. I mean, here’s the ref trying to be a nice guy, protecting one team from the other bullying team for committing so many “team fouls”. And then given the opportunity to throw a couple balls into the basket (for free, I feel I should stress again), the other team can’t even be bothered to make the first one. That’s just straight up ungratefulness.

This blog of mine is first and foremost a football blog. But I love the Dawgs and I want to see them do well in everything, including things I might not fully understand. So I may, from time to time, jot down a few things about Coach Fox’s Hounds. It remains to be seen whether I can come up with anything insightful. But I’m sure going to try and have fun doing it. And who knows. Maybe by the end of the season, I’ll have figured out who gets all that money made from all the throws taken during the game that weren’t free.

3 Responses to “I Know Nothing”

  1. […] I’ve made reference in the past to my lack of understanding of the sport of basketball. It’s just not something I followed very closely growing up. Perhaps if I had not been so…vertically challenged in my youth, I might’ve played the game, which could possibly have helped me understand it a little better. As it stands, I know nothing. […]

  2. […] I’ve made reference in the past to my lack of understanding of the sport of basketball. It’s just not something I followed very closely growing up. Perhaps if I had not been so…vertically challenged in my youth, I might’ve played the game, which could possibly have helped me understand it a little better. As it stands, I know nothing. […]

  3. […] a thing that people talk about. But here’s where my ignorance in basketball shines through yet again. Of course, Vanderbilt basketball is not to be taken lightly so I’d be very surprised if […]

Say Something

