Quick Outburst of Cynicism

Other than my little histrionic video after our game, I haven’t really given much thought to Auburn or Cam Newton. Until yesterday, that is, when the NCAA gave its ruling on this whole situation. Essentially, the NCAA discovered wrong-doing on the part of Cecil Newton, who solicited money for his son’s services. But it also determined that it did not have any evidence that Cam knew anything about any of this. Once this wrong-doing was discovered, Auburn, in accordance with NCAA rules, immediately declared Cam Newton ineligible and petitioned for his reinstatement, which was granted the following day, with no conditions. Just in time to play against South Carolina in the SEC Championship game this Saturday.

I’m not ready to share all of my opinions on this whole matter, particularly in conjunction with the A.J. situation we suffered through earlier this season. But I do want to say this: should this Saturday’s game between the Gamecocks and the Tigers be a closely contested match, I wonder how many calls will go Auburn’s way? Conversely, I wonder how many questionable calls might go against South Carolina?

I’m not a straight-and-narrow, squeaky clean individual. I’ve done questionable things in my life that, upon reflection, I’m not particularly proud of. Which puts me in a great position to recognize something shady when I see it. I don’t claim to know all of the facts to this case but I know enough to think that somebody or something is, to borrow a phrase, dirtier that a money grubbing preacher.

4 Responses to “Quick Outburst of Cynicism”

  1. Lord have mercy, there are just some things you can’t un-see or un-hear. Believe it or not, I’ve got a video that might actually be worse than that. I’ll be posting it up either tomorrow or Saturday morning. Consider this fair warning!

  2. Get the money first. Pay the penalty later. That’s the game which is now afoot.

    Can’t wait to see how this re-shapes recruiting in the future.

Say Something

