Football Interruptus

This is a non-football or Dawgs related post so feel free to skip it.

You know how there’s always that person at work who everyone ends up avoiding for whatever reason? It might be from a lack of personal hygiene or any number of annoyances that add up after a while. In my case, there’s a person I work with who will talk to anyone all the time about absolutely nothing. Don’t get me wrong, this person (whom I will henceforth refer to as Mr. Kill Me Now) is incredibly nice. It’s unfortunate that Mr. Kill Me Now is also incredibly boring and lacks the ability to tell when others are bored, preferring, instead, to prattle on endlessly. About nothing.

For instance, the other day, Mr. Kill Me Now was feeling a little under the weather and decided to call in. I was unlucky enough to answer the phone. So I take the call, inwardly groaning when I realize who I’m talking to and hurriedly try to get off the phone as soon as possible. Imagine my annoyance when Mr. Kill Me Now launches into a tirade about the philosophical ideaology of calling in to work. At six in the morning.

Lately, Mr. Kill Me Now has gotten it into his head that I care. Because he’s taken to talking to me about his love life. Now, I don’t know about you guys but I don’t necessarily need nor want to hear about anyone’s love life. OK, strictly speaking, this isn’t true. I mean, if Mr. Kill Me Now were a twenty-something Swedish girl who is into seltzer water and experimentation, then, yeah, I’m an avid listener. As it is, not so much.

Alright, rant over. Moral of the story: Swedish girls are cool.

2 Responses to “Football Interruptus”

  1. Narcissism is often brutal to its victims.

    • Imagine one who’s also a genuinely nice person, always quick with a smile and a nice word. Or sixty seven nice words. One day, someone is going to snap and rain a fiery hell of rage and venom down on Mr. Kill Me Now’s sunshine parade. I don’t think it will even faze him. Because surely it’s happened at least once before, right?

Say Something

