Don’t That Picture Look Dusty

The year I moved to Memphis, I attended a Tigers football game at the Liberty Bowl. It was the 1996 season and Memphis lost a poorly played game against the Minnesota Golden Gophers. It was such an underwhelming and frustrating experience that I have yet to return to the Liberty Bowl to see another Tigers game.

Well, I went back to the Liberty Bowl yesterday afternoon to see the Dawgs play. Upon finding my seat and taking in the view, I was immediately reminded of that Tigers game years back. But I thought to myself that today is different because I’m going to have a chance to cheer on a real football team. I could not have been more mistaken.

While I did my fair share of cheering, I’m not sure my team held up their end of the deal. I cared. But it didn’t look like the team did. That was about as ugly a loss as I can ever recall seeing. No, wait, there was the South Carolina loss. Oh yeah, also the Mississippi State loss. And I’m still trying to forget the Colorado loss.

“We’ve gotta go back and re-dedicate ourselves to doing what it takes, and that includes every single man, every single coach, everybody in the Butts-Mehre to do what it takes to be a championship team.”

The quote above was given by Coach Mike Bobo after the Dawgs’ completed their first losing season since 1996. I’ve emphasized the last bit of what he said. The last words, so to speak.

Change is coming. We’re seeing some of it now, with new personnel in position in the strength and conditioning program. What other changes to come remain to be seen. But we need to see something.

Go Dawgs!

4 Responses to “Don’t That Picture Look Dusty”

  1. We have seen so many excuses the last few years that I wonder why people continue believing it.

    We heard that we needed leaders the last 2 years
    We heard that we needed a new culture last year

    Same ole, Same ole

  2. You claiming this loss is your fault? UGA should never be in the Liberty, but if are please don’t go back ;-).

    Same talk for the last three years from this bunch. I don’t think this staff knows what to do to right the ship. I think someone in the Butts-Mehre needs to remind everyone this is UGA and not USCarolina. Seems like the two teams traded places over the last few years.

  3. […] about the game I had just seen the Dawgs lose to the University of Central Florida Knights. And I wondered how in the world we ever got to where we were. “There’s reasons why we ended up the way […]

  4. Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on
    this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

Say Something

