A Loss and A Gain

First, the bad stuff. That Vanderbilt game last night was just flat out frustrating. Too many mistakes and poor shooting on our part coupled with Vandy’s inability to miss from three point range as well as being the recipient of favorable home cooking calls from the ref equaled the end of our nine game win streak.

Coach Fox drew a technical. And after the Dawgs got to within seven points with only two and half seconds remaining in the game, he called a timeout and gathered the team together amidst jeers and boos from the crowd. The camera showed Coach Fox speaking quite calmly and earnestly to his team as they gave him their full attention. Man, how I’d like to hear what he might have said there.

It was a tough loss to good Vanderbilt team. But we’ve got to find a way to win these difficult conference road games. Good thing we’ll get a chance try again this Saturday, down in Oxford against the Rebels.

Alright, with that out of the way, they’re coming back! Brandon Boykin and Cordy Glenn, that is. Both juniors contemplated leaving early for the draft but have decided to come back for their senior seasons.

Great news for the Dawgs and for both of these guys, I think. And in light of yesterday’s revelations about the newfound rigors of the weight room along with both of these Dawgs’ statements regarding their return, I can’t help but feel encouraged by the earlier talk of changing the culture of the football team.

Boykin: “After meeting with my family and coaches, I was able to put a lot of things into perspective. First of all, I want to be part of getting Georgia back into the championship hunt. Coming back will also give me a chance to get my degree before entering the draft and another year of experience will only make me a better player as well.”

Glenn: “I want to come back for several reasons including helping our team get back on track to where we want to be. Coming back will also give me a chance to improve my draft stock and get closer to my degree which is important to me and my family.”

Still no word on Justin Houston’s decision. But we’ll know sooner rather than later because the deadline for declaring for the draft is fast approaching. Getting both Boykin and Glenn back is as good as landing a couple of great recruits. Getting Houston back would also be like landing a couple of great recruits.

Say Something

