Other People’s Business

Having lived in the Great American South for most of my life, it seemed inevitable that I would develop friendships with fans of other programs. And as you all know, followers of Southern football can be especially fervent in our fandom. But I’ve mentioned before that I don’t begrudge anyone loving their team as much as I love mine. And so I thought it might be insightful to talk to some of these friends about the state of their team as we go into Spring ball.

First up, Auburn. I’ve got a former co-worker who has been a Tigers fan since he was a kid and he loves them dearly. Imagine my surprise when I sat down with him to talk Tigers football and couldn’t really get a word out of him. It’s not that he didn’t have anything to say. It’s just that I couldn’t really understand him. I took a picture just so you guys could see what I mean:

When I left him, I thought I heard him mumble something about the vengeance of trees and how we’d all be sorry; figured he was just talking about some M. Night Shyamalan movie or something.

OK, so next up, Tennessee. I often find myself surrounded by UT fans. This is not to be unexpected because, as I’ve mention before, I live amongst the enemy. But, generally speaking, I get along with my UT friends fifty or so weeks out of the year. And so I was a little concerned when I met with my UT buddy to talk Vols. He seemed agitated. Rightfully so, I might add. After all, his basketball team just lost by thirty points on national TV and his basketball coach got fired as a result of lying to the NCAA. When I asked him about a rumor I’d heard about UGA’s basketball coach, Mark Fox, possibly being a replacement up in Knoxville, all he could muster was a half-hearted “Vol lock”. I left him alone in his misery but not before reminding him that at least they got a Georgia boy at the helm for their football team. I think his head might actually have exploded at this point. I’m not certain because I was too busy running away.

Moving on. A former boss of mine (up until this past week) is a graduate of Mississppi State. He’s actually the only MSU fan I know. We chatted ever so briefly about his ‘Dogs. I started off the conversation rather gregariously: So, how are things in Starkghanistan? What have you Tofu Dogs been up to? And, seriously, how is it that you guys can have a great year (by your standards), capping it off with a blowout win in your Bowl game and still have terrible recruiting afterwards? Your boosters a little gun-shy after the whole Cam Newton deal? I tell you what. Maybe you guys should spend that extra cash on an even bigger screen for your rinky dink stadium, making sure it’s just that much bigger than the one in the stadium of that School up north, in Oxford. His reply?

Scoreboard.

Touché.

Alright, so this little Q&A thing didn’t really pan out how I’d planned it. So I figure I should at least try to close it out with a real humdinger: Georgia Tech. Here is the result of the conversation I had with my Yellow Jackets friend.

 

 

 

 

This space intentionally left blank.

 

 

 

 

 

Go Dawgs!

One Response to “Other People’s Business”

  1. […] I’ve got a very good friend who is knowledgeable in all things electronic (no, he’s not a Techie) so it looks like I’m back in […]

Say Something

