As the Old Saying Goes…

Seeing as how I wasn’t born in America and English not being my native tongue, I find that I often have difficulty using or understanding various figures of speech. And so, much like the Senator, I’m having trouble sussing out just exactly what Coach Bobby Petrino and the University of Arkansas mean when they use their new, trademarked motto “We didn’t come to paint”. After giving it some thought throughout the day, I’ve come to the conclusion that it must be some variation of the saying “fish or cut bait”. Or possibly “shit or get off the pot”, for the non-anglers among us.

Now, I’m no fan of Coach Bobby Petrino, mainly because I’m a decent human being. But, Dawgs don’t play Arkansas this year and I’m feeling rather in a good mood today. So I’d like to wish the Hawgs much success with their new saying. Otherwise, Coach Petrino may find himself between a rock and a roll.

What’s that? It’s “hard place”? Oh. Let me try again.

Otherwise, Coach Petrino may find himself between a hard place and a roll. And that ended so well last time.

Say Something

