What is best in life?

Saw this article yesterday at the Ledger-Enquirer about the possibility of tight end Jay Rome redshirting this year and noticed this interesting bit:

Offensive coordinator Mike Bobo mentioned before practice began that they could try Rome in some hybrid-fullback sets. Rome said that hasn’t happened yet, though he is working in some double tight end sets.

Double tight end sets. That’s what I’m talking about. Added pass protection from having a balanced line with essentially two tackles on each side of the center, the possibility of having three athletic tight ends on the field with Bruce Figgins lined up at fullback… That’s a formation we can run and pass out of without changing personnel. Plus it helps a young offensive line against blitzing and keeps the defense guessing. And imagine a toss sweep to Richard Samuel with Bruce Figgins leading the way. Here is an approximation of what that might look like:

If we’ve got enough tight ends such that Jay Rome might redshirt, then let’s make sure to use them. Preferably to crush our enemies, see them driven before us and to hear the lamentation of their women.

9 Responses to “What is best in life?”

  1. CONAN! What is best in life?!

    • I had intended to end this post with just “Preferably to crush our enemies”. But when I was typing it out, I couldn’t help myself and had to continue the quote. Fortunately, the title of the post then became obvious as to what it had to be. Otherwise, I probably would have ended up calling it “What we need is more tight ends” or something even more risque. I think the world is a better place for me not having to go that route.

      • The world is a better place for quoting some Arnold’s best lines from a great, albeit somewhat insane, movie. Legend has it Oliver Stone was completely coked out while he was writing the script. Knowing that makes sense, considering how ridiculous some of the scenes in that movie are. In addition, if you watch the DVD with commentary by Arnold, I am fairly certain he is under the influence of something. It is almost more entertaining than the movie itself, which is saying a lot. Anyway, when I read the title of this post, I immediately thought of Conan: The Barbarian and was hoping it wasn’t merely a coincidence. I am glad you didn’t let me down.

    • Funny, I was reading your second comment with “Countdown to Monday Night Football” on TV in the background and they come back from a commercial break with a big Conan: The Barbarian 3D promo with Chris Berman talking it up.

      I totally believe that bit about a geeked-up Stone. My favorite sequence of scenes show Conan during his early years, before he earns his freedom. Just a very well told bit of backstory.

      I must admit, this post isn’t the first time I’ve referenced Conan.

  2. You are a gentleman and a scholar, and if I ran into you in a bar, I would surely buy you a beer or perhaps some whiskey, and quote Arnold Schwarzenegger until the wee hours of the night. Quotes would include this gem:

    “Crom, I have never prayed to you before. I have no tongue for it. No one, not even you, will remember if we were good men or bad. Why we fought, or why we died. All that matters is that two stood against many. That’s what’s important! Valor pleases you, Crom… so grant me one request. Grant me revenge! And if you do not listen, then to HELL with you!”

  3. Game of Thrones, eh? I have been hearing a lot about this show. I don’t have HBO, but need to check this thing out regardless. Anyway, I plan on seeing the remake, but, like you, I don’t expect very much. Arnold was just the best for Conan. But I’ll give it a chance.

Say Something

