“We few, we happy few, we band of brothers”

I was reading ESPN’s piece on the recent rash of Dawgs’ transfers and came upon this quote by Coach Richt regarding a certain former #47:

“I’ll never forget David Pollack coming in my office as a freshman during camp and it was like, and I don’t think he’ll get mad at me saying this, but he was down and was like, ‘I can’t do anything right, Coach (Rodney) Garner’s all over me and I think I might have made a mistake. I don’t know if I can play here.’ Pollack’s the most decorated player in the history of Georgia football and he had those doubts, too. It’s hard. It’s hard to all of a sudden compete at a level that you just never had to.”

Good lord. I don’t know what Coach Richt might have said to Pollack to change his mind but it must have been on par with Henry V’s Saint Crispin’s Day Speech.

Best of luck to Derek Owens, Ken Malcome et al. Wish it could have worked out for everyone involved and I hope these guys get someplace where they’re happy and can contribute to their satisfaction.

Update:

Good luck, Boo!

Say Something

