Welcome Home, Marlon Brown

I was going through some links I’d filed away for later when I came across this article on Dawgs247 with a quote from Memphis local, Marlon Brown:

“And Ching’s Hot Wings. There’s a Ching’s Hot Wings on Getwell Road. Best wings in Memphis.”

Well, I thought, how could I not stop by after a recommendation like that? Besides, Hepzibah, the other wings place we all liked around here, closed down recently and I’ve discovered that one can never really know of too many good wings places to eat at, you know what I’m saying?

Tucked away in a busy little strip mall, Ching’s was the place to be when we stopped by early yesterday afternoon. Walking in the door, my first thought was that we weren’t going to be able to get a table. After settling into a spot in line for the ordering window, I took a look around at the tiny dining area and noticed that the walls were covered in framed photographs of former Memphis high school stars, along with jerseys of prominent Memphis Tigers basketball players and other Memphis-related sports memorabilia. Upon closer inspection, I even found a photo of Marlon Brown sporting his letterman jacket from Harding Academy.

After perusing the menu on the wall and trying to make a decision on which sauces to try, when our turn came at the window, we decided on a combo order of “Party Wings”, Seasoned and another combo order of “Whole Wings”, with Honey Gold sauce. Both came with fries, appropriate veggies, Ranch dressing and rolls. Fortunately, after placing our order, a booth opened up and we were able to secure an adequate feeding spot. First up, the Honey Gold wings:

These things were delicious. The sauce tastes exactly like the famous chicken dish you can find in probably every Chinese restaurant in America: General Tso’s Chicken (or General Tsao’s, I forget which one it is at Peking’s in Athens). As you can see, the wings themselves are rather large. Also, notice that the carrots are glazed, reminiscent of Carrots Vichy. We destroyed these wings. In fact, before I could even take a photo, one of my companions had already devoured a roll and one of the wings, creating a noticeable vacant spot on the right. She apologizes profusely.

Moving on, the Seasoned Wings:

I was a little disappointed with these. We should have gone with the Whole Wings instead of the Party Wings because these were not quite as plump and juicy. While the seasoning had a great flavor, it was a bit too salty for my tastes. Amazingly, this didn’t really stop me from eating my fair share of these wings.

All told, we had a great time and a great meal at Ching’s Hot Wings. It’s a busy a little spot and for good reason. Click here for a link to Google Maps directions from the Liberty Bowl. It’s less than five miles away and worth a trip if you’re into good wings with a variety of sauces in a cozy dining atmosphere. Also, if you happen to get the fries, dip them in the Ranch dressing and tell me it doesn’t taste exactly like sour cream and chives potato chips.

One more thing. Thanks for the recommendation, Marlon Brown. I’m sure the boys will enjoy the wings when you bring them along once you guys get into town.

Go Dawgs!

5 Responses to “Welcome Home, Marlon Brown”

  1. […] Year of the Dawg Football opinions from left field « Welcome Home, Marlon Brown […]

  2. […] I don’t think he’s at his favorite wings place. I just drove by and I didn’t see him. Oh, right. He’s in Athens, getting after it: […]

  3. […] done, Marlon Brown. The next time you’re home in Memphis, wings are on me. GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

  4. It’s very simple to find out any topic on net as compared to books,
    as I found this paragraph at this website.

  5. A useful accelerometer feature is built in that dettects
    as soon as the Desire has been rotated and quickly
    revolves the picture on the touchsfreen accordingly so
    it iis able to be enjoyed both in portrait or landscape forms.

    The app features thee algebraic chess notation and records every move made by the computer and the player.
    Thee are plenty of maps, zombes and upgradable weapons.

Say Something